What Are the Four Pillars of Wellbeing? 

The Four Pillars of Wellbeing represent four areas that make up the overall health and happiness of a person. All four pillars are important and if one is deficient, the rest can also suffer.

The Four Pillars of Wellbeing are:

  1. Mental wellbeing
  2. Physical wellbeing
  3. Financial wellbeing
  4. Social wellbeing


Mental Health

The World Health Organisation defines it as:

“Mental health is not just the absence of mental disorder. It is defined as a state of well-being in which every individual realises his or her own potential, can cope with the normal stresses of life, can work productively and fruitfully, and is able to make a contribution to her or his community.”



Physical Wellbeing

Physical wellbeing is the ability to maintain a healthy quality of life that allows us to get the most out of our daily activities without undue fatigue or physical stress.

It relates to a variety of different aspects ranging from sleep and exercise and to nutrition, sexual health & menopause.



Financial Wellbeing

Financial Wellbeing focuses on how an individual feels about money, and the impact that personal finances have on their overall wellbeing.

Research suggests that a poor financial situation will have a direct detrimental effect on an individual’s mental health, producing physical and psychological symptoms such as loss of sleep, poor concentration and reduced motivation. As the cost of living continues to rise, financial wellbeing will become increasingly important.


Social Wellbeing

Social Wellbeing is a measure of your interpersonal relationships.

Within the workplace, this relates to your sense of belonging, social inclusion and social stability within your teams. It’s about the way we communicate with one another, how we connect with our colleagues and how we feel valued at work.